Castellaneta Cathedral

Castellaneta, Italy

Castellaneta Cathedral is dedicated to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. It is the episcopal seat of the Diocese of Castellaneta. The first cathedral on the site was initially dedicated to Saint Nicholas of Bari, and dated at the latest from the Norman occupation of the last decades of the 11th century. In the 14th century, it was replaced with a Romanesque structure with a basilica layout of a central nave and two aisles separated by columns, all three terminating in semicircular apses. The dedication was changed at this time to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary.

Three chapels were later added: the Chapel of the Most Holy Sacrament (Santissimo Sacramento) in 1538 and the Chapel of Mary the Consoler (Santa Maria Consolatrice) in 1643, both founded by confraternities; and the Chapel of the Most Holy Crucifix (Santissimo Crocifisso). There is also a chapel dedicated to Saint Nicholas, with Romanesque capitals. In 1771, a new white limestone façade was added. Today, the bell-tower retains some of the Romanesque-Gothic elements. In the 18th century, new polychrome altars were built. The Bishop's Palace is adjacent.



Your name


Founded: 14th century
Category: Religious sites in Italy

More Information


4.7/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Rocco Digregorio (2 years ago)
Erected in 1220 and rebuilt in 1700, the church was initially dedicated to San Nicola and then later to the virgin Assunta. The cathedral has a beautiful Baroque facade on the outside and an equally enchanting carved wooden ceiling inside. Three eighteenth-century canvases by Carlo Porta (The Assumption, San Nicola con Diodato, The fall of the Angevins) and four from the early nineteenth century by Domenico Carella di Martina (Christ in the Upper Room, the wedding at Cana, the dancing David, Christ communicating St. Peter) further embellish the church.
antonello di biase (3 years ago)
Assumption Cathedral located in the historic center of Castellaneta
Pato (4 years ago)
Where the ancient city has a spectacular view over the ravine, this cathedral has been the center of the city's religious life for centuries. The first cathedral on the site was dedicated to Saint Nicholas of Bari, and is from the Norman occupation of the last decades of the 11th century, after the foundation of the episcopal see. But the oldest surviving architectural remains are from the 14th century: the bell tower with a series of small arches connected in the lower order and elegant double lancet windows in the higher order. In the 14th century it was replaced by a Romanesque structure with a basilica design of a central nave and two corridors separated by columns with semicircular apses. The dedication was changed at this time to the Assumption of the Virgin Mary. Later three chapels were added: the Chapel of the Blessed Sacrament in 1538, the Chapel of Maria Consoladora in 1643, both founded by brotherhoods; and the Chapel of the Holy Crucifix. The building that we see today is the product of radical construction and decorative works from the 17th and 19th centuries. There are three portals within the lower order compartments; the central one has the same circular tympanum and the lateral portals are framed by architraves surrounded by oval windows. The upper order, delimited laterally by two connected scrolls flanked by the statues of San Nicolás and San Gennaro, comprises a large window with a tympanum in the center, ending at the top with a raised baluster and the statues of the Four Cardinal Virtues . The presbytery area is connected to the main body of the cathedral and ends in an apse with a coffered shell and a hanging dome. The side aisles are interspersed with pairs of semi-columns. The central nave preserves a wooden ceiling divided into 11 compartments, bordered by cornices that frame the paintings of the Evangelists, the Four Cardinal Virtues of the 18th century and scenes that represent Saint Nicholas liberating Diodatus at Lord Agareno's banquet, the Coronation of Our Lady of the Assumption and the Fall of the rebel angels. Among the rich decorations and the side chapels are the statues of San Pedro and San Pablo from the 16th century at the end of the nave, attributed to Stefano de Putignano. Also the paintings by Domenico Carella, among which are two large canvases placed facing each other in the presbytery that portrays the Philistines returning the Ark to the chosen people (1802) on the left, and David dancing before the Ark (1801 ) to the right; and the three oils of The Communion of Saint Peter, The Sacrifice of Isaac and The Wedding Feast at Cana, which adorn the outstanding chapel of the Holy Sacrament. Also the precious high altar in polychrome marble from 1772; the oil paintings from the 18th century on the back, and the first silver bust of Saint Nicholas of Neapolitan origin (1756) found in the chapel of Saint Nicholas at the end of the right aisle.
Carmine GRAVINA (5 years ago)
One of the most beautiful in Puglia, it is also positioned above a fantastic natural scenery
marisa teso (5 years ago)
Why explain why it struck me just look at the photos and the video one understands that you have to go to see then the beauty of this place fascinates you
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Kastelholma Castle

First record of Kastelholma (or Kastelholm) castle is from the year 1388 in the contract of Queen Margaret I of Denmark, where a large portion of the inheritance of Bo Jonsson Grip was given to the queen. The heyday of the castle was in the 15th and 16th centuries when it was administrated by Danish and Swedish kings and stewards of the realms. Kastelhoma was expanded and enhanced several times.

In the end of 16th century castle was owned by the previous queen Catherine Jagellon (Stenbock), an enemy of the King of Sweden Eric XIV. King Eric conquered Kastelholma in 1599 and all defending officers were taken to Turku and executed. The castle was damaged under the siege and it took 30 years to renovate it.

In 1634 Åland was joined with the County of Åbo and Björneborg and Kastelholma lost its administrative status.