Muckle Flugga Lighthouse

Haroldswick, United Kingdom

Muckle Flugga lighthouse was designed and built by the brothers Thomas and David Stevenson in 1854, originally to protect ships during the Crimean War. First lit on 1 January 1858, it stands 20 m high, has 103 steps to the top, and is Britain's most northerly lighthouse. In March 1995 it was fully automated.

In 1851 it was decided to build a lighthouse on north Unst but, because of difficulties in determining the exact location, nothing had been done by the start of 1854. During the Crimean War, the government urged the commissioners to set up a light on Muckle Flugga to protect Her Majesty's ships. A temporary lighthouse 15 m high was built 61 m above sea level and lit on 11 October 1854. It was thought to be high and safe enough to withstand the elements, but when winter storms began waves broke heavily on the tower and burst open the door to the living quarters. The principal keeper reported that 12 m of stone dyke had been broken down, and the keepers had no dry place to sit or sleep. Plans were made for a higher and more permanent lighthouse, but there were still disagreements about where to locate it, Muckle Flugga or Lamba Ness. The orders to start the work on the new Muckle Flugga tower were finally given in June 1855. The lighthouse's original name was 'North Unst', but in 1964 that was changed to 'Muckle Flugga'.



    Your name


    Founded: 1855-1857


    4.4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

    User Reviews

    Вадим Зайцев (2 years ago)
    Northernmost point of the UK
    Вадим Зайцев (2 years ago)
    Northernmost point of the UK
    Masum Hayder (2 years ago)
    Amazingly peaceful place. Brilliant view.
    Masum Hayder (2 years ago)
    Amazingly peaceful place. Brilliant view.
    Kevin Tulloch (3 years ago)
    Absolutely superb. To see it from the Sea is a fantastic opportunity and experience
    Powered by Google

    Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

    Historic Site of the week

    Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

    The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

    In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.