Kamerlengo Castle

Trogir, Croatia

Kamerlengo Castle was built in the mid-15th century by Marin Radoj as part of an expansion of the Veriga Tower, built on the site in the late 14th century. It is used as a location for performances during the summer months. The word kamerlengo refers to the title of an administrative official (a chamberlain).



Your name


Founded: 15th century
Category: Castles and fortifications in Croatia

More Information



4.4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

J S (2 years ago)
It’s a cool castle but you can’t get in probably for safety reasons.
Angela Bell (2 years ago)
Nice intro to the fascinating history of the area. Slightly scary and steep stairs inside to get to the top but a must-do. Definitely worth a look and good value for money. Oh and you can practice your hand at archery for a small fee ?
Adam Phillips (2 years ago)
An interesting castle. Reasonably priced. 30Kn adults 20 Kn kids. Great views inside, a long video on the history but the up and down to get up the largest tower could do with a lot more organisation. Literally it is all go one way until a gap which can make a long wait. Would be 4 stars except for this. Worth putting up with and definitely worth a visit.
Михайло Литвиненко (2 years ago)
The fortress was built when Dalmatia came under the protectorate of the Republic of Venice. Today, you can see the walls connecting the three towers of the fortress. On the highest tower is an observation deck with a beautiful view of the sea and yachts. The stairs inside the tower are steep and narrow, it can fit one person, so you had to wait to go up. Nearby there is a soccer stadium for 1,000 spectators. The tower is now mostly used for cultural events. Also this tower is often used by filmmakers. Admission is paid.
William Anderson (2 years ago)
Pretty impressive backdrop to the West on the promenade in Tragir! My wife and I enjoy the cafe's, atmosphere and ever changing yacht ⛵ footprint tied up for a visit!
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Tyniec Abbey

Tyniec Benedictine abbey was founded by King Casimir the Restorer probably around 1044. Casimir decided to rebuild the newly established Kingdom of Poland, after a Pagan rebellion and a disastrous Czech raid of Duke Bretislaus I (1039). The Benedictines, invited to Tyniec by the King, were tasked with restoring order as well as cementing the position of the State and the Church. First Tyniec Abbot was Aaron, who became the Bishop of Kraków. Since there is no conclusive evidence to support the foundation date as 1040, some historians claim that the abbey was founded by Casimir the Restorer’ son, King Boleslaw II the Generous.

In the second half of the 11th century, a complex of Romanesque buildings was completed, consisting of a basilica and the abbey. In the 14th century, it was destroyed in Tatar and Czech raids, and in the 15th century it was rebuilt in Gothic style. Further remodelings took place in the 17th and 18th centuries, first in Baroque, then in Rococo style. The abbey was partly destroyed in the Swedish invasion of Poland, and soon afterwards was rebuilt, with a new library. Further destruction took place during the Bar Confederation, when Polish rebels turned the abbey into their fortress.

In 1816, Austrian authorities liquidated the abbey, and in 1821-1826, it was the seat of the Bishop of Tyniec, Grzegorz Tomasz Ziegler. The monks, however, did not return to the abbey until 1939, and in 1947, remodelling of the neglected complex was initiated. In 1968, the Church of St. Peter and Paul was once again named the seat of the abbot. The church itself consists of a Gothic presbytery and a Baroque main nave. Several altars were created by an 18th-century Italian sculptor Francesco Placidi. The church also has a late Baroque pulpit by Franciszek Jozef Mangoldt.