Spaso-Yakovlevsky Monastery

Rostov, Russia

Monastery of St. Jacob Saviour (Spaso-Yakovlevsky) is an Eastern Orthodox monastery situated to the left from the Rostov kremlin on the Rostov's outskirts. Monastery was founded in the 14th century by St Iakov of Rostov.

The earliest kept building of a monastery is Cathedral of Conception of St Anna. It has been constructed in 1686. Another 17th-century building is Savior Transfiguration Cathedral which once belonged to the abolished Spaso-Pesotsky Monastery.

It has been greatly venerated as the shrine of St. Dmitry of Rostov. Most of the monastery structures were built in the late 18th and early 19th centuries in the fine neoclassical style. The Cathedral of St. Dmitry of Rostov has been constructed in 1794–1802 with support of Nikolai Sheremetev's column.



Your name


Founded: 14th century
Category: Religious sites in Russia

More Information


4.8/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Di jan (2 years ago)
Красивый, величественный собор. Вход на территорию свободный, а подъем на смотровую площадку около 100 рублей. Территория ухоженная, персонал вежливый. На территории есть свое местное кафе.
Сергiй Христовъ (2 years ago)
Монастырь духовно слабый к сожалению. Раньше он был лучше. Сказывается общая тенденция к обмирщвлению монастырей, а итоге "не мясо не рыба". Слава Богу, что святые обители - монастыри могут со временем переменяться и к лучшему. Братия не плохая в целом, но жизнь здесь сейчас расслабленная, и нацеленная более на обслуживание туристов, чем на монашеский подвиг...
Sergei Bushuev (2 years ago)
Действующий мужской монастырь, наряду с Толгским один из самых древних и благоустроенных монастырей Ярославской обл. Основан ок. 1390 г. Два храма XVII в., великолепный собор святителя Димитрия Ростовского, построенный Е. Назаровым на средства Н. П. Шереметева в стиле классицизма, в котором мощи этого святого и его келейная икона "Отрада или Утешение". В Иаковлевском (просторечно Яковлевском) храме к. XVII в. мощи основателя обители, святителя Иакова. В Зачатьевском храме фрески XVII столетия. За умеренную плату можно заказать экскурсию в паломническом центре монастыря, пообедать индивидуально или с группой. Альтернатива - информативный официальный сайт обители. За воротами стихийный рынок ростовской финифти, завод по производству которой неподалеку. Также с рук в продаже жареная и копченая рыба из озера Неро, на берегу которого расположен монастырь.
TheRin30 (2 years ago)
Спасо-Яковлевский монастырь, основанный в конце XIV века, замечателен в архитектурном плане. Монастырь имеет квадратную форму, три храма (Зачатьевский 1686 года, Димитриевский 1801 года и Яковлевскую церковь 1836 года постройки), трёхъярусную колокольню XVIII века, святой источник с надкладезной часовней и шесть башен. В Зачатьевском соборе сохранены прекрасные фрески XVII века. Территория монастыря всегда образцово ухоженна и очень полюбилась местным кошкам. Приятно прогуляться и вокруг, открываются незабываемые виды на озеро Неро.
Wanna Ursiripant (5 years ago)
Spaso-Yakovlevsky Monastery, today still open for pilgrims and tourists. However, when I visited it's not opened. But the second visiting, I try to there again and it's open. Very peaceful inside.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Heraclea Lyncestis

Heraclea Lyncestis was an ancient Greek city in Macedon, ruled later by the Romans. It was founded by Philip II of Macedon in the middle of the 4th century BC. The city was named in honor of the mythological hero Heracles. The name Lynkestis originates from the name of the ancient kingdom, conquered by Philip, where the city was built.

Heraclea was a strategically important town during the Hellenistic period, as it was at the edge of Macedon"s border with Epirus to the west and Paeonia to the north, until the middle of the 2nd century BC, when the Romans conquered Macedon and destroyed its political power. The main Roman road in the area, Via Egnatia went through Heraclea, and Heraclea was an important stop. The prosperity of the city was maintained mainly due to this road.

The Roman emperor Hadrian built a theatre in the center of the town, on a hill, when many buildings in the Roman province of Macedonia were being restored. It began being used during the reign of Antoninus Pius. Inside the theatre there were three animal cages and in the western part a tunnel. The theatre went out of use during the late 4th century AD, when gladiator fights in the Roman Empire were banned, due to the spread of Christianity, the formulation of the Eastern Roman Empire, and the abandonment of, what was then perceived as, pagan rituals and entertainment.

Late Antiquity and Byzantine periods

In the early Byzantine period (4th to 6th centuries AD) Heraclea was an important episcopal centre. A small and a great basilica, the bishop"s residence, and a funerary basilica and the necropolis are some of the remains of this period. Three naves in the Great Basilica are covered with mosaics of very rich floral and figurative iconography; these well preserved mosaics are often regarded as fine examples of the early Christian art period.

The city was sacked by Ostrogoth/Visigoth forces, commanded by Theodoric the Great in 472 AD and again in 479 AD. It was restored in the late 5th and early 6th century. When an earthquake struck in 518 AD, the inhabitants of Heraclea gradually abandoned the city. Subsequently, at the eve of the 7th century, the Dragovites, a Slavic tribe pushed down from the north by the Avars, settled in the area. The last coin issue dates from ca. 585, which suggests that the city was finally captured by the Slavs. As result, in place of the deserted city theatre several huts were built.

The Episcopacy Residence was excavated between 1970 and 1975. The western part was discovered first and the southern side is near the town wall. The luxury rooms are located in the eastern part. The 2nd, 3rd and 4th rooms all have mosaic floors. Between the 3rd and 4th rooms there is a hole that led to the eastern entrance of the residence. The hole was purposefully created between the 4th and 6th century.