Santa Ana Castle

Castro Urdiales, Spain

Santa Ana Castle was built in the 13th century but abandoned already in the 16th century. The five 15m high corner towers protect the main building where the lighthouse was erected in 1853.


Your name


Founded: 13th century
Category: Castles and fortifications in Spain


4.5/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

chris delaney (2 years ago)
Beautiful Castle and exhibition center.
Mama Martin (4 years ago)
Ruben A. Monzon (4 years ago)
Castillo Templario de Santa Ana de Castro Urdiales - In 1163 Alfonso VIII granted Castro-Urdiales the repopulation jurisdiction to be donated to the Las Huelgas monastery between 1187 and 1193 and between 1214 and 1219, date from which it will always be a town of realengo, belonging to the Four Villas Corregimiento , then to the Bastille of Laredo and from 1830 to the province of Santander. The fortification had to rise around 1200, while the walled enclosure of the town and the neighboring church of San Pedro. It actively participated in the war of Independence against the French.
Matigulla Mukhatdinov (4 years ago)
Nice Castle near the sea
Gege86 Demonssouls (4 years ago)
Really cool place.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Diocletian's Palace

Considered to be one of the most imposing Roman ruins, Diocletian’s palace is certainly the main attraction of the city of Split. The ruins of palace, built between the late 3rd and the early 4th centuries A.D., can be found throughout the city. Today the remains of the palace are part of the historic core of Split, which in 1979 was listed by UNESCO as a World Heritage Site.

While it is referred to as a 'palace' because of its intended use as the retirement residence of Diocletian, the term can be misleading as the structure is massive and more resembles a large fortress: about half of it was for Diocletian's personal use, and the rest housed the military garrison.


The palace has a form of an irregular rectangle with numerous towers on the western, northern, and eastern facades.