The earlier church of Cléry-Saint-André Abbey from the 13th century was destroyed in Hundred Years' War in 1428. Only the tower survived until in 1449 Charles VII and Count Jean de Dunois ordered to build a new church. It was completed in 1485. The nave is 80m long and 27m high. The altar dates from the 19th century. The most notable inventory in the Cléry church is tomb of Louis XI of France. He was buried to the church in 1483.



Your name


Founded: 1449-1485
Category: Religious sites in France
Historical period: Valois Dynasty and Hundred Year's War (France)


4.4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Jean-Paul FURIC (7 months ago)
A very beautiful place steeped in history where the flamboyant Gothic gives meaning to the spiritual. To visit absolutely... Along the Loire, there are not only castles!
Jean Michel CONNOIS (10 months ago)
Stunning gothic basilica. In such a small village. Impressive. When you step inside it is grand. Magnificent tomb of Louis xi. Some beautiful old stained glass windows. Suberb chapels. Admire the details of the carvings. The set is very beautiful, very interesting, great history of France and it's free
Alastair McKenzie (2 years ago)
Not really into cathedrals but this one with its Louis XI connection is quite interesting. In one of the side chapels, the local tourist office have set up a rolling video presentation on the cathedral in French & English.
stephane-andre bourgeois (2 years ago)
Very beautiful church all in stones, a remarkable, religious and historical place, a king of France is buried there, very beautiful black virgin, a beautiful place of pilgrimage in the Loire Valley ....
Jeroen Nasnl (2 years ago)
Huge church for the village it's in. Very nicely restored and with a surprisingly good video presentation (free). Well worth the visit. Nice detail: electrical holy water dispenser.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Krickenbeck Castle

Krickenbeck moated castle is one of the oldest on the lower Rhine. Its history dates back to the year 1104, when the castle was first mentioned. It is unclear why the old castle, which was certainly inhabited by Count Reginar, was abandoned or destroyed. In the mid-13th century the castle was moved to the current location. At the end of the 14th century the new castle belonged to the Counts of Kleve.

Johann Friedrich II of Schesaberg converted the castle into a Baroque mansion between 1708-1721. On September 7, 1902, a fire destroyed the entire mansion. From 1903 to 1904, a three-winged castle was built in the Neo-Renaissance style. Today Krickenbeck is a conference center.