Maalahti Church

Maalahti, Finland

The current wooden Maalahti church was built in 1829 and it is designed by C. Bassi. The belfry was erected in 1832 according the design of famous C. K. Engel. The altarpiece was painted by A. Såltin in 1881 and organs date from 1875.



Your name


Founded: 1829
Category: Religious sites in Finland
Historical period: Russian Grand Duchy (Finland)


4.6/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Jartsa Lipasto (17 months ago)
Jens Strom (3 years ago)
Fin gammal kyrka
Jari Sundman (3 years ago)
Kaunis keskikokoinen milteipä suuri ristikirkko jossa samaan aikakauteen valmistunut kellotapuli. Jonka on piirtänyt Charles Bass intendentinkonttorissaan 1828. Kirkko rakennettiin Heikki Kuorikosken johdolla 1828-1829. Erikoisuutena on kirkkoon yhdyskäytävällä liitetty kellotapuli joka on Carl Ludvig Engelin piirtämä ja rakennettu 1831-1832. Kirkko on suunniteltu 800 hengelle ja on pohjapinta-alaltaan 600m2. Kellotapulin kellot ovat vanhempi kuin itse tapuli, valettu 1723 sekä 1817. Erittäin hyväkuntoinen kaunis kirkko jota ei ole muutoksilla pilattu. Hyvinkin katsomisen sekä tutustumisen arvoinen kirkko ruotsinkielisellä pohjanmaalla, joka tuo pieniä eroja tyylissä verratessa suomenkielisiin alueisiin. Myös hautausmaakin kannattaa katsella.
Sirpa Koivuranta (4 years ago)
Ahmed Hashim (4 years ago)
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Luxembourg Palace

The famous Italian Medici family have given two queens to France: Catherine, the spouse of Henry II, and Marie, widow of Henry IV, who built the current Luxembourg palace. Maria di Medici had never been happy at the Louvre, still semi-medieval, where the fickle king, did not hesitate to receive his mistresses. The death of Henry IV, assassinated in 1610, left the way open for Marie's project. When she became regent, she was able to give special attention to the construction of an imposing modern residence that would be reminiscent of the Palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens in Florence, where she grew up. The development of the 25-hectare park, which was to serve as a jewel-case for the palace, began immediately.

The architect, Salomon de Brosse, began the work in 1615. Only 16 years later was the palace was completed. Palace of Luxembourg affords a transition between the Renaissance and the Classical period.

In 1750, the Director of the King's Buildings installed in the wing the first public art-gallery in France, in which French and foreign canvases of the royal collections are shown. The Count of Provence and future Louis XVIII, who was living in Petit Luxembourg, had this gallery closed in 1780: leaving to emigrate, he fled from the palace in June 1791.

During the French Revolution the palace was first abandoned and then moved as a national prison. After that it was the seat of the French Directory, and in 1799, the home of the Sénat conservateur and the first residence of Napoleon Bonaparte, as First Consul of the French Republic. The old apartments of Maria di Medici were altered. The floor, which the 80 senators only occupied in 1804, was built in the middle of the present Conference Hall.

Beginning in 1835 the architect Alphonse de Gisors added a new garden wing parallel to the old corps de logis, replicating the look of the original 17th-century facade so precisely that it is difficult to distinguish at first glance the old from the new. The new senate chamber was located in what would have been the courtyard area in-between.

The new wing included a library (bibliothèque) with a cycle of paintings (1845–1847) by Eugène Delacroix. In the 1850s, at the request of Emperor Napoleon III, Gisors created the highly decorated Salle des Conférences, which influenced the nature of subsequent official interiors of the Second Empire, including those of the Palais Garnier.

During the German occupation of Paris (1940–1944), Hermann Göring took over the palace as the headquarters of the Luftwaffe in France, taking for himself a sumptuous suite of rooms to accommodate his visits to the French capital. Since 1958 the Luxembourg palace has been the seat of the French Senate of the Fifth Republic.