Charleroi Belfry

Charleroi, Belgium

Charleroi Belfry is part of the City Hall, designed by architect Joseph André in 1936. It is a perfect blend of Classicism and Art Deco. The 70-metre-high belfry can be accessed by climbing 250 stairs and was built using blue and white stone and bricks. It is crowned with a small bronze tower. The last three levels are reserved for the chambers of the 47 bells forming the carillon. Every fifteen minutes it chimes out a few bars of folk songs by Jacques Bertrand, the bard of Charleroi. This belfry is a UNESCO world heritage site.



Your name


Founded: 1936
Category: Miscellaneous historic sites in Belgium

More Information


4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Анатолій Вербицький (4 months ago)
Unfortunately, I did not hear the bells
José Guerrero S (6 months ago)
It is the bell tower of the Town Hall of Charleroi, it is the most recent in Belgium and the only one in Art Deco style, it is included in the UNESCO World Heritage list. Access can only be made on certain dates and has 270 steps.
Dinesh K (8 months ago)
Tower view is good
fauvergenne baize philippe nathalie (9 months ago)
Charleroi upper town. To be historical,... It's historic.
Joelle VANGASSE (2 years ago)
Beautiful architecture the visit to the belfry is worthwhile
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Kastelholma Castle

First record of Kastelholma (or Kastelholm) castle is from the year 1388 in the contract of Queen Margaret I of Denmark, where a large portion of the inheritance of Bo Jonsson Grip was given to the queen. The heyday of the castle was in the 15th and 16th centuries when it was administrated by Danish and Swedish kings and stewards of the realms. Kastelhoma was expanded and enhanced several times.

In the end of 16th century castle was owned by the previous queen Catherine Jagellon (Stenbock), an enemy of the King of Sweden Eric XIV. King Eric conquered Kastelholma in 1599 and all defending officers were taken to Turku and executed. The castle was damaged under the siege and it took 30 years to renovate it.

In 1634 Åland was joined with the County of Åbo and Björneborg and Kastelholma lost its administrative status.