Grimbergen Abbey is a Premonstratensian monastery established in 1128 in the place of an earlier foundation of Augustinian Canons.

The abbey itself was dissolved in 1796 in the aftermath of the French Revolution, but the abbey church of Saint Servatius survived as the parish church of Grimbergen. After the French Revolution the abbey was reinstated. The building in its present form dates from 1660 and is considered one of the most beautiful and best-integrated Baroque churches in the Low Countries. It was elevated to the status of basilica minor in 1999.



Your name


Founded: 1128
Category: Religious sites in Belgium

More Information


4.3/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

marc grimbergen (3 years ago)
Hidden gem near Brussels
T. Rick (3 years ago)
'founded in 1128 but burned down three times in all, giving it its symbol of a phoenix and the motto 'ardet nec consumitur = burned but not destroyed'... and the bier is stellar!
jose baby (4 years ago)
An amazingly beautiful and antique Abbey in a scenic suburb of Brussels.
Claudine Lavalleye (4 years ago)
Prachtige abdijkerk, fantastisch houtsnijwerk. Nog abdij met paters
Freddy Horicx (4 years ago)
Dit gebouw getuigt nog van een rijk kerkelijk en cultureel verleden ! Nog steeds prachtig onderhouden. Doet je wat wegdromen. Prachtige toren ook ! Dat alles gelegen temidden v/e mooi centrum met parking in voldoende mate aanwezig in relatief korte nabijheid. En een goed horeca-aanbod. Goed voor enkele uurtjes ontspanning....!
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.