The Vatican Gardens have been a place of quiet and meditation for the popes since 1279 when Nicholas III moved his residence back to the Vatican from the Lateran Palace. Within the new walls, which he had built to protect his residence, he planted an orchard (pomerium), a lawn (pratellum) and a garden (viridarium).

Created around the hill of Saint Egidio (where the Palazzetto del Belvedere is located today) and the courtyards of the Vatican Museums, this was to be the first garden in the Vatican. However, should you visit the Vatican Gardens today you would begin by viewing a totally different area from that first orchard, one located in a more recent addition to what is now Vatican City State. It is there that larger and more recent gardens have been planted, covering together with the original garden about half of the 44 hectares of Vatican City.



    Your name

    Website (optional)


    Founded: 1279


    4.7/5 (based on Google user reviews)

    User Reviews

    Липченко Александра (18 months ago)
    Of course we couldn't visit gardens, just see it from tower (this is private Vatican area), but it looks amazing, we love it
    Lorraine glover (2 years ago)
    Gardens are stunning. It was such a beautiful day as well one I will treasure. And after that I done the Vatican. Rome is full of history I loved it and will go back and visit
    Miroslav Botev (2 years ago)
    Beautiful place! Loved the summer residence they showed us in the end. Worth it for the exclusivity factor. However, not as good as the Vatican museums if you want to weigh them against each other.
    Tanislava Gorska (2 years ago)
    Beautiful gardens with nice views to St.Peter basilica. Peaceful place. The downside is you don't have much chance to relax and enjoy on a bench, you basically spend 2 hours on foot.
    François Marquis (2 years ago)
    Pretty much just look at the place as there's so much to see inside. Perfect little gardens with lush green everywhere...
    Powered by Google

    Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

    Historic Site of the week

    Kisimul Castle

    Dating from the 15th century, Kisimul is the only significant surviving medieval castle in the Outer Hebrides. It was the residence of the chief of the Macneils of Barra, who claimed descent from the legendary Niall of the Nine Hostages. Tradition tells of the Macneils settling in Barra in the 11th century, but it was only in 1427 that Gilleonan Macneil comes on record as the first lord. He probably built the castle that dominates the rocky islet, and in its shadow a crew house for his personal galley and crew. The sea coursed through Macneil veins, and a descendant, Ruari ‘the Turbulent’, was arrested for piracy of an English ship during King James VI’s reign in the later 16th century.

    Heavy debts eventually forced the Macneil chiefs to sell Barra in 1838. However, a descendant, Robert Lister Macneil, the 45th Chief, repurchased the estate in 1937, and set about restoring his ancestral seat. It passed into Historic Scotland’s care in 2000.

    The castle dates essentially from the 15th century. It takes the form of a three-storey tower house. This formed the residence of the clan chief. An associated curtain wall fringed the small rock on which the castle stood, and enclosed a small courtyard in which there are ancillary buildings. These comprised a feasting hall, a chapel, a tanist’s house and a watchman’s house. Most were restored in the 20th century, the tanist’s house serving as the family home of the Macneils. A well near the postern gate is fed with fresh water from an underground seam. Outside the curtain wall, beside the original landing-place, are the foundations of the crew house, where the sailors manning their chief’s galley had their quarters.