Archaeological Museum of Granada

Granada, Spain

The Archaeological Museum of Granada was established in 1879. It is located in the Castril palace, dating from the 16th century. It hosts many artefacts from the many different civilizations that settled in Granada including the Carthaginians, the Phoenicians, the Romans and the Arabs. It includes a beautiful Renaissance patio. The building's façade was created in 1593.



Your name


Founded: 1879
Category: Museums in Spain

More Information


4.1/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Hayley Morris (5 months ago)
Great little museum to wander around for 30 minutes, it's free for European citizens and Spanish residents and only 1 euro for anyone outside of the EU. The staff are really friendly and it's well organised and they have some very interesting pieces
W B (8 months ago)
Nice small archaeological museum. Free entry if you are an EU resident. Interesting artifacts from the Granada region. The actual complex was stunning as well, and nice view of the Alhambra from upstairs.
S K (2 years ago)
The museum has potential. Upstairs exhibit was all closed, downstairs seem to be about Paleolithic time etc has 4000 year old hair band and straw shoes. The guy at the desk was more eager to turn me away an hour before closing than anything on their free day Saturday. It’s really small, only 2 rooms were open downstairs. Gives a periphery understanding of perspective in time.
Marion Green (3 years ago)
Excellent museum in a beautiful building. Free entry for EU residents. There was a mosaic making workshop when we were there given by an archaeologist which was an unexpected treat!
Manuel Manuel (3 years ago)
Poco que ver
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.