Basilica di Nostra Signora Assunta

Genoa, Italy

Basilica of Our Lady of the Assumption (Basilica di Nostra Signora Assunta) was constructed during 1610–1624. The Baroque-style facade was added in 1932, design of the architect Piero de Barbieri; the sculptor Luigi Venzano contributed the facade statues of St. John the Baptist and St. Joseph, while the central relief depicts the Madonna. The interior was decorated across the centuries and includes works by Giulio Benso, Domenico Piola, Nicolò Barabino, and Gian Stefano Rossi.



Your name


Founded: 1610-1624
Category: Religious sites in Italy

More Information


4.4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Olympus Ballet (13 days ago)
che dire di una chiesa che più che altro è una cattedrale nel centro di Sestri Ponente ... bellissima
Juan Diaz (3 months ago)
a beautiful church, I went to church service on Sundays, and I liked it a lot
Simone Lanari (2 years ago)
Chiesa bella e grande anche arte belli ... purtroppo manca interprete LIS perché noi sordi non sento che prete cosa dice noi non sente ok
Lore Wavy (2 years ago)
Why do you ring the bells every 3 minutes? everyone knows where the church is. Do you want to attract attention? Do you do it to disturb? To wake up? Why do you do it? a believer who likes silence
Sonia Boscarini (3 years ago)
Bellissima chiesa e stupenda comunità, Don Andrea il meglio che si potesse desiderare da un prete. Sempre molto attento, simpatico e pieno di iniziative.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.