Racic Family Mausoleum

Cavtat, Croatia

The Mausoleum of the Račić family (Our Lady of Angels) is the work of the Croatian sculptor Ivan Meštrović, built in 1922. It is located in the Saint Rocco Cemetery, on the highest point of the Rat Peninsula, above the urban centre of Cavtat. It can be approached from the southern side following the street near the Our Lady of Snow Franciscan Monastery, or continuing along Prijeko Street from the east.

In the place of today’s Mausoleum, used to be the Saint Rocco Chapel, which was yet again preceded by a medieval church consecrated to Saint Tryphon probably situated at the same spot.



Your name


Founded: 1922
Category: Cemeteries, mausoleums and burial places in Croatia

More Information



4.5/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Austin Bailey (4 months ago)
This is a beautiful mausoleum, built to commemorate a family tragedy, in a very picturesque hilltop cemetery. It’s a great opportunity to see some of Meštrović’s work up-close while in Cavtat. It would be more aesthetically pleasing to remove the fake flowers from the altar and to get rid of the offering box made of cardboard and tape, as well as to find a place to put away the cleaning supplies.
Christina Moysiadou (2 years ago)
Great view! Though it wasn't open. But the outside was stunning!
Katerina Nezgvrva (3 years ago)
The monument itself is a mausoleum of a rich family of shipbuilders from Cavtat, while the architectures of it and sculptures are the masterpieces of famous Ivan Mestrovic. It says it was his first commission. There is a quiet cemetery on the spot and a nice view.
Pam Rollinson (4 years ago)
Peaceful and beautiful resting place
Tork Mackenzie (4 years ago)
A very evocative spot away from the commercial hubbub of Cavtat , the mausoleum is small but beautifully looked after and the graveyard is immaculate with extensive views across to Dubrovnik
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Aberlemno Sculptured Stones

The Aberlemno Sculptured Stones are a series of five Class I and II Early Medieval standing stones found in and around the village of Aberlemno. The stones with Pictish carvings variously date between about AD 500 and 800.

Aberlemno 1, 3 and 5 are located in recesses in the dry stone wall at the side of the road in Aberlemno. Aberlemno 2 is found in the Kirkyard, 300 yards south of the roadside stones. In recent years, bids have been made to move the stones to an indoor location to protect them from weathering, but this has met with local resistance and the stones are currently covered in the winter.

Aberlemno 4, the Flemington Farm Stone was found 30 yards from the church, and is now on display in the McManus Galleries, Dundee.