The first Christian church was probably a wooden church. Of this church there is no trace, but the baptismal font in the Church today has probably belonged to this church. In the 1220s a new stone church of considerable size was built in round-headed Romanesque style and consisted of a nave with four pillars, chancel with two cross-arms and apse, an extension in the rear of the chancel where the altar was placed. A large tower in the west would be part of the building, but it never came to execution. The nave is left intact to this day. Lau church is the island’s largest country church. It is famous for its unique acoustics.



Your name


144, Lau, Sweden
See all sites in Lau


Founded: 1220s
Category: Religious sites in Sweden
Historical period: Consolidation (Sweden)


4.7/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Gustav Randér (2 months ago)
A unique and fantastic church, undeniably worth a visit. Contains enriching exhibits on the history of the parish when I visited Lau, which gave a vivid picture of the past and its population.
Markus Roupe (2 months ago)
Awesome acoustics go your way and sing vettja!
Jerker Montelius (2 months ago)
Unique church with long reverberation and acoustics.
Christoffer Brobäck (2 months ago)
Incredible church if your interested in history, construction engineering or musically inclined. Lau kyrka has a fenomenal CA 9 sec echo due to its distinguished construction and it's worth researching why indeed the church got such feature in the first place. Worth noting is also that the church is way broader than what a normal farmers church is expected to be so one could theorize that the church was built with initiative from some richer order.
Ulrik Hejdenberg (10 months ago)
A beautiful church with absolutely outstanding acoustics!
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Frösö Runestone

Frösöstenen is the northern-most raised runestone in the world and Jämtland's only runestone. It originally stood at the tip of ferry terminal on the sound between the island of Frösön and Östersund. The stone dates to between 1030 and 1050. It has now been relocated to the lawn in front of the local county seat due to the construction of a new bridge, between 1969 and 1971, on the original site.

Frösö runestone inscription means: Austmaðr, Guðfastr's son, had this stone raised and this bridge built and Christianized Jämtland. Ásbjörn built the bridge. Trjónn and Steinn carved these runes.