Grimbergen, Belgium

Prinsenkasteel ('Prince Castle') was founded in the 14th century by the lords of Grimbergen. The present castle was built around 1500 on the foundations of the previous fortress. In 1686 the Count of Grimbergen, Philippe-François de Glymes, was given the title of Prince by Charles II of Spain. The castle then became a princely estate, hence its name. After being damaged during the War of the Austrian Succession, it was restored in 1745 and embellished in the 1770s.

From 1901 to 1933, Premonstratensians from the abbey of Sainte-Anne de Bonlieu-sur-Roubion, expelled from France following the expulsion of religious congregations, were welcomed in the castle.

The castle ruins were bought by the municipality of Grimbergen in 1947. In 1978, the municipality also acquired the annex building, now called the Guldendal, which was formerly used as a stable, a carriage house and service building.



Your name


Founded: 14th century
Category: Castles and fortifications in Belgium

More Information


4.2/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Bruno Carlot (2 years ago)
Quiet place
Jan Jasiewicz (2 years ago)
Castle ruins surrounded by small park. Quite nice place for afternoon walk.
Julie Clover (3 years ago)
What a great piece of history so close to Brussels. Great place to walk around but not very big.
Balazs Jarosi (3 years ago)
Nice castle with moat and a nice park. Recommended
S. Blue Name (3 years ago)
Good place to walk
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week


Manarola is a small town, a frazione of the comune of Riomaggiore. It is the second-smallest of the famous Cinque Terre towns frequented by tourists, with a population of 353.

Manarola may be the oldest of the towns in the Cinque Terre, with the cornerstone of the church, San Lorenzo, dating from 1338. The local dialect is Manarolese, which is marginally different from the dialects in the nearby area. The name 'Manarola' is probably a dialectical evolution of the Latin, 'magna rota'. In the Manarolese dialect this was changed to 'magna roea' which means 'large wheel', in reference to the mill wheel in the town.

Manarola's primary industries have traditionally been fishing and wine-making. The local wine, called Sciacchetrà, is especially renowned; references from Roman writings mention the high quality of the wine produced in the region.