Castillejo de Robledo Castle

Castillejo de Robledo, Spain

Castillejo de Robledo castle and its lands were property of the Order of Malta until it was suppressed by Pope Clement V in 1311. After that the estate passed to the Knights Hospitaller and then to the residents of the town. In the town there was an old Moorish fortification where the current castle was built in the 12th century. The remains of the original wall are visible and are characterized by a greater thickness than the walls erected later.


Your name

Website (optional)


Founded: 12th century
Category: Castles and fortifications in Spain


4.4/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Julio Diez Antolin (20 months ago)
En Castillejo del Robledal
Juanjo Navarro (21 months ago)
Solo quedan los vestigios de lo que debió de ser un importante castillo
mrosa dd (2 years ago)
Precioso lugar.
francisco Javier Timiraos Fernandez (2 years ago)
Pueblo con una extensa historia. Sale en el Cantar del Mío Cid. En la posada un excelente cocido
Olaya M. (2 years ago)
Es una pena que esté en tan mal estado, aun así se respira un cierto aire de misterio entre lo poco que queda de sus muros. El camino para llegar hasta arriba no es muy bueno, pero merece la pena porque las vistas son impresionantes y el pueblo es muy bonito.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Easter Aquhorthies Stone Circle

Easter Aquhorthies stone circle, located near Inverurie, is one of the best-preserved examples of a recumbent stone circle, and one of the few that still have their full complement of stones. It consists of a ring of nine stones, eight of which are grey granite and one red jasper. Two more grey granite stones flank a recumbent of red granite flecked with crystals and lines of quartz. The circle is particularly notable for its builders' use of polychromy in the stones, with the reddish ones situated on the SSW side and the grey ones opposite.

The placename Aquhorthies derives from a Scottish Gaelic word meaning 'field of prayer', and may indicate a 'long continuity of sanctity' between the Stone or Bronze Age circle builders and their much later Gaelic successors millennia later. The circle's surroundings were landscaped in the late 19th century, and it sits within a small fenced and walled enclosure. A stone dyke, known as a roundel, was built around the circle some time between 1847 and 1866–7.