Brinkhall Manor

Turku, Finland

Brinkhall manor house dates back to the 16th century. The current main building was built in 1793 and it was the first neo-classical manor house in Finland. It was designed by Gabriel von Bondorff. The interior is from 1920s. Brinkhall is also known as remarkable gardens. The English garden was one of the first in this style in Finland in the beginning of 19th century.

The manor is today owned by the Finnish Cultural Heritage Foundation. Brinkhall´s premises are available for meetings, conferences and private parties or functions. A summer café also operates at Brinkhall.


Your name


Founded: 1793
Category: Palaces, manors and town halls in Finland
Historical period: The Age of Enlightenment (Finland)


4.2/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Satu Junnila (2 months ago)
Outside, you can feel the havin of history. If you could get inside the buildings then it would be a more complete feeling. Wonderfully peaceful milieu.
Veikko Suhonen (4 months ago)
Yksi Turun alueen historiallisista kartanoista. Sijaitsee Kakskerran saarella aivan Kakskerran järven läheisyydessä. Kartanolla on oma omenapuutarha jonka tuotteista valmistetaan kartanon omaa omenaviiniä. Suurelle yleisölle kartano tunnetaan paremmin tv sarjan Hovimäkenä n. 20 vuoden takaa.
Hannele Reini (4 months ago)
Olisi upea paikka kaikkineen, jos pidettäisiin parempaa huolta. Pienemmät rakennukset ränsistyvät silmissä ja yksi haisi niin pistävälle homeelle, että henkeen alkoi ottaa heti sisään astuttua ja oli pakko lähteä pois. Älkää antako paikan enää rapistua enempää. Kahvila ihan kiva, olisin vain kaivannut suolaisia vaihtoehtoja kun en syö makeaa.
Susanna Kivinen (SusuK) (5 months ago)
Beautifully restored mansion inside. Cafe and art exhibitions. The manor can only be reached on a guided tour. Tickets from the cafe.
Dani Saarinen (5 months ago)
Huutaisi kunnossapitoa. Paikka rapistuu ja pihalla on pysäköintiongelma.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.