St. Nicholas Church

Aabenraa, Denmark

St. Nicholas church was built probably between 1250-1300. It was dedicated to St. Nicholas about 1360. In the Middle Ages it was likely surrounded by a rampart outside of the town ramparts. The extremely ornamental altarpiece dates from 1642 and restored in 1989. The early Renaissance pulpit dates from 1565.



Your name


Founded: 13th century
Category: Religious sites in Denmark
Historical period: The First Kingdom (Denmark)


4.6/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Fardin Sherzai (2 years ago)
Nice place
Nicola Dal Martello (2 years ago)
Beautiful building
Joshua Wolf (2 years ago)
Beautiful old church in the middle of town. Built over various periods with some impressive pieces throughout especially the organs. Worth it to drop in but nothing really in English other than the plaque outside so mostly just nice to take in the atmosphere. Many old nobles etc buried here which is interesting to see from centuries ago. Would be great if you could climb the tower but we couldn't see a way to.
Jose A. Parra (Preca) (2 years ago)
Really beauty and peacefull place
Hans Hansen (4 years ago)
Beautiful old Church with a nice atmosphere, and always a great place to to relax from the mundane shopping world around it. Just try to get inside, it is open many times and easily accessible and well worth the visit. Have a look for the announcements of concerts, you will find wonderful entertainments with a unique atmosphere for live music.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.