Holy Trinity Church

Gdańsk, Poland

The imposing Church of the Holy Trinity was built by Franciscan monks in 1420-1514. In 1480, the Chapel of St Anne was constructed alongside the church. This towering Gothic building, adjoining a former Franciscan monastery (now the National Museum), is among the best preserved buildings in the city.

The altar is offset by a lofty whitewashed interior and the wide expanse of floor is cobbled with tombstones, including an epitaph of the Marquis of Oria who died in Gdansk. The marquis donated over 1,000 valuable books to the city library. The church contains the oldest surviving pulpit in Gdansk – it dates from 1541 and is another remarkable example of local wood carving. Beside the church is a half-timbered galleried house dating from the 17th century.



Your name


Founded: 1420-1514
Category: Religious sites in Poland


4.7/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Ewa Wojtanowska (13 months ago)
Great fathers, beautiful church
Sanloz (14 months ago)
Great views, grand building
Mitchell Walsh (2 years ago)
Beautiful Franciscan church featuring a courtyard with timber-framed building. The church itself is spectacularly tall, with a clean interior and an incredible organ.
Oza Fauzan (2 years ago)
God for tourism and fairytale
janusz pl (3 years ago)
Najlepsza ruchoma szopka w Gdańsku u Franciszkanów.A na dziedzińcu żywa szopka nie zapomnijcie coś zabrać dla gąski,kurki,osiołka i kózki. Można zostawić w skrzynce przed szopka.Trzeba szopki zobaczyć na żywo bo wszystko się rusza jak żywe .
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Frösö Runestone

Frösöstenen is the northern-most raised runestone in the world and Jämtland's only runestone. It originally stood at the tip of ferry terminal on the sound between the island of Frösön and Östersund. The stone dates to between 1030 and 1050. It has now been relocated to the lawn in front of the local county seat due to the construction of a new bridge, between 1969 and 1971, on the original site.

Frösö runestone inscription means: Austmaðr, Guðfastr's son, had this stone raised and this bridge built and Christianized Jämtland. Ásbjörn built the bridge. Trjónn and Steinn carved these runes.