The medieval stone church of Ambla is the oldest in Central Estonia. Construction of the church was started in the mid-13th century. The church has been consecrated in the name of Virgin Mary, the main patron saint of Teutonic Order. In Latin the church is called Ampla Maria (Mary the Majestic), which also has given the name for the village.

The Renaissance-style interior was mainly destroyed in Livonian Wars, but there still exist an altarpiece and pulpit made in the 17th century.


Your name


Founded: ca. 1250
Category: Religious sites in Estonia
Historical period: Danish and Livonian Order (Estonia)

More Information


4.6/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Istvant T1ch1 (2 years ago)
Rich history here, I kato> I am getting supplies and having fun stopping places for 9. I had a very good time here and noticed that when I sing the sound bounces of walls very nice. About this time last year I attended a friend of mine funeral service for his daughter back in USA in Boise. I thought it fantastic to release Monarch butterflies. I also enjoyed shaking hands and looking a very plastic man in the eye. Now one year later it is sad to reflect, But the church here brings back good thoughts.
Ene Kirsi (2 years ago)
Nice, equivalence ... also interesting history
ARV Team (2 years ago)
Nice historical church.
Helen Korju-Kuul (3 years ago)
Beautiful. We looked at the exhibition from wreaths, we walked.
Andres Kuningas (3 years ago)
The cemetery near the church is also worth exploring.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.