Duke Hans Hospital and Church

Haderslev, Denmark

Duke Hans Hospital and Church (Hertug Hans Hospitalskirke) was established in 1569. It was not a hospital in today’s sense; we would call it a poorhouse. It was a place where poor and infirm elderly people could get free board and lodging when they could not fend for themselves and had no family to take care of them. It was far from luxurious, but they had a roof over their heads and were spared from having to beg. There was also a chapel there, so they had access to the church in their old age.

Duke Hans the Elder lived in Haderslev from 1544 until his death in 1580. It was something of a heyday for the town, as a permanent princely court generated a good income and work. After the Reformation, areas such as health care had been neglected as they used to come under the Catholic Church. With the establishment of the hospital, Duke Hans gave care for the poor and the elderly a boost. Over time, conditions for the residents improved, and the Hertug Hans Hospital served as a home for the elderly from 1569 to 1983, when the building could no longer meet the requirements to continue as a nursing home.

Following a thorough renovation in the late 1980s, the hospital is now used by Haderslev Domsogn for meeting rooms, etc., and weekly services and other religious ceremonies are held in the chapel.



Your name


Founded: 1569
Category: Religious sites in Denmark
Historical period: Early Modern Denmark (Denmark)


4.2/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Villads Rasmusen (2 years ago)
It's a nice place then
Anni og Ulrick Steffensen (2 years ago)
Nice little church
poul erik hagger-nielsen (2 years ago)
Nice old church
Laurits Sørensen (3 years ago)
Tonni Svend Damm Larsen (3 years ago)
one of the Curches in my Town
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.