The Musée Ariana is devoted to ceramic and glass artwork, and contains around 20,000 objects from the last 1,200 years, representing the historic, geographic, artistic and technological breadth of glass and ceramic manufacture during this time.

Built between 1877 and 1884, the museum is shaped by Neo-Classical and Neo-Baroque elements and is situated near the Palace of Nations. It was built to house the private collection of the Swiss art collector and patron Gustave Revilliod, who named it after his mother, Ariane de la Rive, and later bequeathed it to the city of Geneva.



Your name


Founded: 1877
Category: Museums in Switzerland


4.5/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Rajesh Chand (2 years ago)
A beautiful museum of ceramics and glass with a beautiful garden.
bobwho1995 (2 years ago)
Free for the permanent exhibits. Good place if you're interested in ceramics and glass. Nothing amazing if you're not into this type of art. Nice if you have 1-2 hrs to spend.
Benedict Uy (2 years ago)
Was walking around the park area around the UN (Ariana Park) and happened upon this building. The fountain and the building behind it looked really nice. Didn't have time to go in but would have been interesting to do so. Probably worth the time if you do like intricate buildings.
Melissa Jensen (2 years ago)
We went in just because it was open after 5, but it was fantastic. Amazing glass and ceramic collection in a beautiful museum. The basement collection is also fantastic.
Azeem Bhatti (3 years ago)
This place was a hidden surprise. You will find this when you walk along the park next to the United Nations head office. It's a beautiful structure and the fountain outside just enhancing it's beauty. The museum is free to enter and the a few free galleries. This is the museum of ceramics and glass.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Frösö Runestone

Frösöstenen is the northern-most raised runestone in the world and Jämtland's only runestone. It originally stood at the tip of ferry terminal on the sound between the island of Frösön and Östersund. The stone dates to between 1030 and 1050. It has now been relocated to the lawn in front of the local county seat due to the construction of a new bridge, between 1969 and 1971, on the original site.

Frösö runestone inscription means: Austmaðr, Guðfastr's son, had this stone raised and this bridge built and Christianized Jämtland. Ásbjörn built the bridge. Trjónn and Steinn carved these runes.