San Marco Evangelista Church

Brescia, Italy

San Marco Evangelista is a Romanesque-style church located at the end of via Laura Cereto in central Brescia.

This small church was erected at the end of the 13th century as a family chapel for the Avogadro family, who owned the nearby Palazzo Avogadro. The church was damaged by a bombing raid during World War II. A frieze of earthenware arches intertwining under the cornice that goes all round the building. On the façade is a stone portal surmounted by a rounded arch; above a modern rectangular window was inserted to replace a round medieval rosette. On the right hand side of the building there is a door with a cross in high relief. The interior contains traces of frescoes and a canvas by Pietro Marone.



Your name


Founded: 13th century
Category: Religious sites in Italy

More Information


3/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Roberto Soriano Doménech (2 years ago)
Small square base. We find it closed, I don't know if you can enter.
Claudia Lonati (3 years ago)
Claudia Lonati (3 years ago)
Veronica Bonura (3 years ago)
La chiesa di San Marco evangelista si trova in via Laura Certo, a Brescia. L'esterno é in mattoni, in chiaro stile romanico. Purtroppo un po' diroccata, e chiusa, non posso darle più di una stellina.
Veronica Bonura (3 years ago)
The church of St. Mark the Evangelist is located in Via Laura Of course, in Brescia. The exterior is brick, clearly Romanesque style. Unfortunately, a little crumbling, and closed, I can't give you more than a star.
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.