St. Stephan's Church

Bamberg, Germany

St. Stephan's Church is built on the most eastern of the seven hills. It has been Bamberg's most important protestant church since 1807.

The original building, which was probably donated by empress Kunigunde, was erected at the same time as Heinrich's Cathedral and was consecrated by Pope Benedict VIII in 1020. Today's church was constructed in two phases in the 17th century and is based on a Greek cross. The choir, built by Giovanni Bonalino in 1628/29, includes elements of the baroque, neo-gothic style. The three other naves, for which Antonio Petrini was responsible, reflect a baroque style, strongly influenced by the renaissance. The works of art span the baroque period to the present day.



Your name


Founded: 1628
Category: Religious sites in Germany
Historical period: Thirty Years War & Rise of Prussia (Germany)

More Information


4.5/5 (based on Google user reviews)

User Reviews

Luis Jaramillo (5 months ago)
This evangelical church is the church of a very old monastery, since it was erected in the 11th century, and it maintained its existence until the beginning of the 19th century. It was a Catholic church, but today it is Protestant and it is clearly visible inside. This church was consecrated by a Pope, Benedict VIII, and it so happens that it is the only evangelical church that has consecrated a pope. It is very well cared for and has a magnificent organ.
Vlado Brasanac (5 months ago)
Quiet and peaceful haven
Andreas Lenz (5 months ago)
Really well restored and kept in order.
dani Unser schöner kahlgrund (6 months ago)
A very old church with almost 1000 years of history which is today the Protestant Lutheran town church of Bamberg. She is on one of the seven hills. It is very simple but has a beautiful organ
Greta Thunberg (6 months ago)
Excellent !
Powered by Google

Featured Historic Landmarks, Sites & Buildings

Historic Site of the week

Late Baroque Town of Ragusa

The eight towns in south-eastern Sicily, including Ragusa, were all rebuilt after 1693 on or beside towns existing at the time of the earthquake which took place in that year. They represent a considerable collective undertaking, successfully carried out at a high level of architectural and artistic achievement. Keeping within the late Baroque style of the day, they also depict distinctive innovations in town planning and urban building. Together with seven other cities in the Val di Noto, it is part of a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

In 1693 Ragusa was devastated by a huge earthquake, which killed some 5,000 inhabitants. Following this catastrophe the city was largely rebuilt, and many Baroque buildings from this time remain in the city. Most of the population moved to a new settlement in the former district of Patro, calling this new municipality 'Ragusa Superiore' (Upper Ragusa) and the ancient city 'Ragusa Inferiore' (Lower Ragusa). The two cities remained separated until 1926, when they were fused together to become a provincial capital in 1927.